Laziness now hurts productivity (and yourself!) later

There’s always something to do.

There’s the day job. A house to clean. Laundry to put away. The opening chapters of a novel to rewrite. A short story to revise. A dog that needs walked.  Normally I’m up to the task, but today, the thought of doing any of that makes me want to lie down and run up the white flag.

Yesterday I wrenched my neck. I’m recovering, but slowly, and it’s really painful.  Plus it’s my own damn fault.  If I were to rewind this little episode, I wrenched my neck because…

…my neck muscles have become weak and flimsy…

…because I haven’t been stretching like I should…

…because I’ve been avoiding workouts and physical activity…

…because I got lazy and stopped doing them.  Combine that with a worsening posture (also the result of no exercise) and it was only a matter of time before some pin came loose.  Writing isn’t exactly a strenuous physical activity. Sitting for hours on end, bad posture, lack of blood flow, strain on your poor tired eyes … one might call that downright dangerous to your health.  It’s bad for circulation, digestion, the immune system, and recovery time.  If you’re not moving, you’re aging.

I want to be doing all of the above tasks. Some tasks (like the day job, taking the dog out, etc.) must be performed, non-negotiable.  I want to dive back into Chapter 3 of the new opening.  I want to be taking notes on the series.  Mentally, I want to do it all, and maintain the pace I’ve managed for 2013 so far.

My neck and shoulder, on the other hand, want nothing more than to curl up under a couch blanket with some Icy-Hot, a glass of wine, and Netflix all night.  It’s a tempting siren song, but I will fight this urge to cast away productivity.

I will write tonight.

And I will pick up the weights.  I will take this as a wake-up call to get back on a consistent physical routine.  Because I want to get back into fighting trim.  Because I want to regain my balance and coordination.  And because I hate the smell of Icy-Hot.

Seriously, I reek of menthol.

About hildebabble
I write. I draw. I get way too invested in superheroes.

Leave a Comment

